3

We were playing Haunt 21 and I was the zombie lord. My friend had the Ring and the Medallion and decided to use the Ring to attack me with Sanity. Would the zombie lord take damage or be stunned from the attack?

We decided to just make it take damage but I wasn't aware that they could just kill the zombie lord in order to win. It was a close game regardless but it would be nice for some clarification. (The difference in Sanity was their 7 to my 2)

3

Yes, it would take damage.

Normally, you cannot damage a monster unless the specific rules for the haunt say otherwise). Under the normal rules:

If a monster suffers any damage, it is stunned and misses its next turn.

However, the Haunt 21 rules makes an exception to this, it says that while holding the Medallion, you can damage the Zombie Lord. It does not specify anything about physical vs mental damage; so it will just be damage either way.

From the traitor's rulebook:

The Zombie Lord can be damaged only by an explorer holding the Medallion. Instead of being stunned, you can take 7 points of damage before you are killed. Use the Turn/Damage Track to record damage. Damage does not reduce your traits.

  • It could be up to 14 points of damage given the OP's description. Unless I'm missing something. I don't think the "instead of being stunned" means that the zombie lord only takes 1 pt of damage max per round. – Red_Shadow Jan 30 '15 at 18:54
  • @ikegami, I'm not sure I understand. The player in question was holding the medallion, so "can only be damaged only by an explorer holding the Medallion" seems clearly fulfilled. And I don't see how it could be 14 points of damage, the traitor's rules clearly state that after 7 points of damage, you lose. – GendoIkari Jan 30 '15 at 19:57
  • I never said or implied that there was any limit to how much damage per round the zombie lord can take... – GendoIkari Jan 30 '15 at 19:59
  • @Red_Shadow, I see I now that I made a mistake. I forgot that damage amount is winner's stat minus loser's stat, not just 1 point. I didn't mean to imply there was a 1 point limit of damage. Edited. – GendoIkari Jan 30 '15 at 20:02
  • 1
    I am convinced. The wording of the rules was different than what I had in my head. – ikegami Jan 30 '15 at 20:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.