Say you have a Wild card, and a blue 7, suddenly a person places a green 9. Technically, you have a playable card (the Wild), but you want to save it for your last card for a guaranteed win.

Are you allowed to save the Wild card even though it’s playable, instead drawing from the pile for a different playable card?


In short, yes; it's called "reneging".

Here's a snippet from the PDF of Uno's rules from Mattel's service website.

Snippet on "reneging" from a PDF of Uno's Rules.

  • 2
    That seems like a strange way to use the word reneging. I've always heard it used to indicate that someone didn't follow the rules and has to backtrack to correct the play. I wouldn't call this reneging if the rules explicitly allow it. – Kyralessa Jan 23 '20 at 20:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.