In Star Fluxx, some Keepers give you abilities that don't take up an action. Are Keeper abilities in Star Fluxx available immediately after the Keeper is put on the table, on the next turn, or just the next time you have an action available?

2 Answers 2


This is the answer from Loney Labs (Alison Looney)

We would rule that you can use the power of a Keeper as soon as you play it. There's no way it would depend upon keeper or hand limits, or play rules. Your turn is not over until you have taken all optional extra actions, including those based on special Keeper powers and extra actions on Rules. So, as soon as you play that Keeper (or that Rule) you can do what it says you can do, because your turn is not over until you have taken (or decided not to take) that optional extra action.

It may happen that a Keeper power has no effect at a given time. Example: in Star Fluxx, you could steal a crew member with the Captain as soon as you play the Captain - but if no other players have crew members on the table to steal, then that's not going to be an option. Another example: In Zombie Fluxx you could kill a Zombie with your Shotgun as soon as you play the Shotgun, but if there are no Zombies to kill, obviously nothing's going to happen.


All keeper actions can be triggered from the moment they enter play (unless otherwise stated).

However, if that keeper is your final play, your turn immediately ends and you will not be able to trigger any ability that requires it to be your turn.

Watch your play order and you can pop anything the turn it comes out.

  • 3
    Are you sure about the "however"? For example, if only the Rich Bonus rule is in place, and you play a keeper, which causes you to now have more keepers than anyone else, you would still get to play another card due to the bonus, right?
    – GendoIkari
    Oct 28, 2013 at 20:02
  • However, if that keeper is your final play .. you will not be able to trigger any ability that requires it to be your turn - So, you want to say that you need first to play a card, then draw a card in order for the effects to be usable in that turn ? If you always first draw a card, then play, your last card played will never take effect in that turn?
    – majkinetor
    Oct 29, 2013 at 13:05
  • I think I got it. In manual goo.gl/sdDlN they say in On your turn section that you must first draw then play then do 2 more actions (obey limits). The rules also say Optional actions allowed by Keepers may be performed at any point during this sequence. Since play rule is the second action out of 4 you can always trigger the keeper action and it should hold even if there are no hand/keeper limit rules in play since you still play those moves even tho they are not applicable.
    – majkinetor
    Oct 29, 2013 at 13:26
  • Anyway, I never noticed that there is play order, so you must not play before drawing which does make sense since you could get creeper that can prevent you from winning.
    – majkinetor
    Oct 29, 2013 at 13:30
  • 1
    Found what "final" means - Andrew Looney said on forum its when you say it, move fuzzy creature, or move token
    – majkinetor
    Oct 30, 2013 at 9:12

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .