When a pokemon card says 20x the number of energy do you do 20 damage if there is no energy on a pokemon or would it be zero? Mewtwo for example, is it 20 plus the number of energies?

  • 1
    Maybe it's obvious to people who play Pokemon, but... what is the card you're asking about? – Cascabel Sep 24 '14 at 6:34
  • 3
    Isn't it obvious already? Times is different than plus. And, mewtwo also requires 2 colorless energy for x ball. so, it always has a minimum of 40 damage, before applying any additional effect. – Moses Aprico Sep 25 '14 at 4:22
  • If your attacking pokemon don't have any energy attached to it, you just can't attack. If the pokemon you're attacking don't have any energy attached to it, then it would be just 0 or no effect. – rhavendc Aug 31 '16 at 9:12

Let's say you talk about this Mewtwo : http://pokeplayer.com/cardex/next_destinies/98-mewtwo-ex

If Mewtwo has 2 energies and the Defending Pokémon has 0 energies, that would do 20 × 2 = 40 damage.

If for a weird reason you were able to use X Ball without having any energy attached, and 0 energies on the Defending Pokémon, that would do 20 × 0 = 0 damage.

Well, you shouldn't be able to, since it would cost energy to do so, but if you were to somehow, then yes, it would be a zero. So, it's a simple answer.

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.