1

This question already has an answer here:

There are a number of cards that have two different actions. Ponder is one of them. I assume these separate actions are in sequence, and cannot be responded to by placing items on the stack in between the steps. But, I can't confirm that in the rules.

Game situation in which this came up (in case this helps explain why one would want to do this.)

I have a Lion Eye Diamond on the table, and I cast Ponder. Ponder resolves, I draw my three cards, and put them back on top of the deck. The top of the library is now a game winner if I can get 3 more mana. [Say it's Coalition Victory but I only have RWGUB available and meet all other requirements] So, would like to fire off the Lion's Eye Diamond before I perform the second step of Ponder and draw that card.

Note: Lion's Eye Diamond can only be activated at instant speed (see the link) even though in all other ways it is a mana source.

Can I win this game this turn? [assuming no counter spells of course...]

marked as duplicate by jwodder, Community Apr 5 '15 at 3:30

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • Thank you jwodder for pointing out the duplicate. I was certain I had seen this before, but couldn't remember where. – John Apr 5 '15 at 3:30
  • Note that even if Lion's Eye Diamond didn't have that restriction, you still wouldn't be able to activate it at that time. Mana abilities can be activated whenever you have priority, or when you need to pay a mana cost, but this situation doesn't match either of those. – murgatroid99 Apr 5 '15 at 3:57
  • 1
    The answers to Can I respond to a draw from Gitaxan probe? also answer this question. – Rainbolt Apr 6 '15 at 16:13