10

The Oath of the Gatewatch release notes say the following in the section about Stone Haven Outfitter:

In this context, “equipped creatures you control” and “equipped creature you control” refer to any creatures you control with Equipment attached to them. In the highly unusual case that Stone Haven Outfitter becomes an Equipment, the meaning of its abilities doesn’t change. The bonuses continue to refer to any equipped creature you control. They aren’t bonuses applied solely to the creature Stone Haven Outfitter is attached to.

I am trying to determine whether the highlighted case is at all possible. I know that I can turn non-Creature, non-Equipment Artifacts into Equipments with Bludgeon Brawl, and that I can turn non-Artifact permanents into Artifacts with cards like Mycosynth Lattice. So, for that highlighted case to be relevant, the only requirement is for Stone Haven Outfitters to become a non-Creature permanent. Is there any way to do that with currently existing cards?

Alternatively, is there any way for a non-Creature permanent to gain Stone Haven Outfitter's abilities?

  • Do you agree with the assertion that Stone Haven Outfitter's abilities still exist, and work, if it becomes an Equipment? – Drunk Cynic Jan 14 '16 at 0:43
  • 1
    Well, if it becomes an Equipment in a way that doesn't cause it to lose the abilities, then yes, it would still have them. What I'm trying to determine is whether that's possible in the first place. – murgatroid99 Jan 14 '16 at 0:45
  • 2
    What happens if you mirrorweave in response to a licid activation? – Hao Ye Jan 14 '16 at 1:20
  • 1
    Copying would push off the interesting abilities. – Drunk Cynic Jan 14 '16 at 1:24
  • @HaoYe Actually, that just may work, if you have the Licid become a copy of the Outfitters in response to activating its ability. – murgatroid99 Jan 14 '16 at 1:52
8

I think this is the highly unusual case they talk about:

Have Bludgeon Brawl, Dominating Licid (or any other Licid) and Stone Haven Outfitter on the battlefield.

So far every permanent is just as they are printed.

Activate the Licid targeting a creature. Respond by casting Mirrorweave on the Outfitter.

When Mirrorweave is resolved the Licid is an exact copy of a printed Outfitter. So it loses the "You control enchanted creature." ability too here.

When the Licid's activated ability is resolved it becomes an Enchantment - Aura and stops being a creature and it becomes attached to the creature. It still has all abilities of the Outfitter.

Cast Mycosynth Lattice.

The Licid becomes an Artifact in addition to it other types. Bludgeon Brawl therefore makes it an Equipment with Equip 2 and "Equipped creature gets +2/+0", based on it having CMC 2 from being a copy of Outfitter. It retains its other abilities.

The Licid is now considered as both equipping as enchanting the creature it's attached to because all that matters for being equipped/enchanted is that it is attached and is an Equipment/Aura.

The enchanted/equipped creature will have +2/+0 because of the Brawl and +1/+1 for each Outfitter you control.

The Licid's typeline and textbox will be:

Enchantment Artifact - Aura Equipment

Enchant creature
Equip 2
Equipped creature gets +2/+0.
Equipped creatures you control get +1/+1.
Whenever an equipped creature you control dies, draw a card.

  • It seems like this should work, but it would be great to have a complete writeup of how/why it works (i.e. what characteristics are changing when the Mirrorweave resolves and when the licid ability resolves). – murgatroid99 Jan 14 '16 at 5:08
  • 1
    I'm not sure that a detailed description of such a corner case is really worth it. It's not like anyone short of an L3+ judge is expected to really understand those interactions. – LovesTha Jan 14 '16 at 5:19
  • 15
    @LovesTha That's some twisted logic. You think it's not worth explaining an interaction, because players don't need to understand unusual interactions? Players are still responsible for understanding the rules and how the cards work, and an "interaction" is just a combination of those. Plus, the point of this site (especially the MTG questions) is exactly to explain stuff like this. – murgatroid99 Jan 14 '16 at 9:25
  • 6
    You're arguing with "the person asking". Presuming to tell me what I wanted out of my own question is not helping your case. Besides that, I hope you understand that the 10 upvotes on my last comment represent an unusual expression of community agreement, so claiming that the consensus is against me here won't work either. – murgatroid99 Jan 15 '16 at 3:00
  • 1
    "Afterwards, the static ability makes at in Artifact Enchantment - Aura as a state based action." This part is entirely incorrect. What we have here are two continuous effects: "Permanents are artifacts in addition to their other types" and "Dominating Licid becomes an Enchantment - Aura". These are not applied as state based actions but are computed continuously. Since they are in the same layer (613.1d) they are applied in timestamp order (613.6). The Licid effect is newer, so it overrides the Mycosynth Lattice's effect. – murgatroid99 Jan 16 '16 at 21:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.