So I've got a question about Axis and Allies Spring 1942 edition.
I had a German fleet off the coast of England (cruiser, battleship, two subs, and two loaded transports), and the US attacked with two fighters and a bomber.
The subs can't defend against aircraft, but I believe are not considered "submerged". The cruiser and battleship were destroyed after two rounds of combat, leaving a bomber on the american side and two subs and transports on the German side.
In this case, are the transports "defenseless" and automatically destroyed? by the aircraft? They are "defended" by submarines, but those subs can't "do" anything in this instance. If it were ships attacking, presumably conflict would continue until it was resolved, but with air units I'm not sure. We played that the transports were destroyed (to my irritation). What's the technical ruling here?