4

Korozda Monitor reads:

Scavenge {5}{G}{G} ({5}{G}{G}, Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.)

I would like to know why the 5(G)(G) is listed twice, outside of the parentheses and inside. I've seen this format on other cards too.

11

It's written like that because that's what the ability means; "Scavenge [cost]" means "[Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.". The italic text in parentheses is called reminder text, and it's there in this case to tell you what scavenge does.

  • 7
    Note that reminder text is not the actual definition of the term; that's in the comprehensive rules. In this case they're essentially the same, though, just a more explicit, correct phrasing in the full rules. – Cascabel Oct 9 '16 at 4:57
  • Ahhh there we go! Very well explained, thank you. The redundancy was confusing, but this makes perfect sense. – Colorblind Transformer Oct 9 '16 at 4:57
  • @Jefromi I'll work on my formatting, sorry! – Colorblind Transformer Oct 9 '16 at 5:01
2

"Scavenge {5}{G}{G}" is a keyword ability. A keyword ability is a shortcut that represents one or more other abilities. The parenthesized, italicized text is a reminder of the gist of the ability for which the keyword stands.

Specifically, the keyword ability "Scavenge [cost]" means "[Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.".

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.