1

Assuming you play with the following rules:

  1. You can't end on a power card (+4, color change)
  2. If you can't play and draw a card you are allowed to play it immediatly if that card does match

If you're holding a power card and you draw a card since you can't end on a power card, can you then play the power card instantly (in the same turn like rule 2) since you have 2 cards now?

  • 1
    Since this question is centered around a house rule I added the house rule tag. – Joe W Sep 25 '18 at 11:25
5

According to these rules

If the player has no matches or they choose not to play any of their cards even though they might have a match, they must draw a card from the Draw pile. If that card can be played, play it. Otherwise, the game moves on to the next person in turn.

You need to play the card you just drew. So you can not use the power card.

1

I'll assume that the house rule posed doesn't contradict the other rules, one of which is that it is explicitly illegal to draw a card and then play a card that one could have played. Drawing a card by choice disallows one the right to play from one's hand later that turn (and if you weren't drawing by choice, you don't have that right anyway).


That said, may I propose a house rule that allows this? If you don't want players to just hoard wild cards to win, one could impose If one's final card is a wild card, they may play it, but must draw one card so that they still have one card left at the end of their turn (and as such, must declare "UNO" or be at risk of being caught)".

  • Regarding the first part of your post, that is what made it so confusing. There was no card that could have been palyed since it was a power card, but it became playable the second a new card was drawn. – RnRoger Sep 25 '18 at 17:42
  • Except by choosing to draw, playing a card that you didn't just draw is illegal. If you draw a power card, you can play that. – user45266 Sep 26 '18 at 0:06
  • "If you don't want players to just hoard wild cards to win" ...then use the scoring rules! Hoarding wild cards then becomes a risk, because if your opponent goes out first, that wild card is a huge point penalty for you. Hoard zeroes instead! ;) – Dan Henderson Sep 26 '18 at 14:08
  • @DanHenderson True. Very rarely does anyone use the actual scoring. – user45266 Sep 26 '18 at 14:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.