2

If I were to attach Kasmina's Transmutation to an opponent's Gideon Blackblade (using Teferi's Time Twist to have it ETB on their turn, for example), what would happen?

Kasmina's Transmutation:

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature loses all abilities and has base power and toughness 1/1.

Relevant bit of Gideon's text:

As long as it's your turn, Gideon Blackblade is a 4/4 Human Soldier creature with indestructible that's still a planeswalker.

What happens?

  1. Gideon stays a vanilla 1/1 creature since he was a creature at the time

  2. Gideon loses the ability that makes him a creature, immediately stops being a creature and drops the aura

  3. Gideon stays a 1/1 until opponent's turn ends, then stops being a creature and drops the aura

7

3. From the card ruling on gatherer:

If an effect causes Gideon to lose all abilities during your turn, he’s still a Human Soldier creature and a Gideon planeswalker.

and

If an Equipment becomes attached to Gideon while he’s a creature, it’ll become unattached during the next upkeep that isn’t yours. The same is true of any Auras that become attached to Gideon that can’t enchant a noncreature planeswalker.

  • And if you want to know why, the answer is layers. Briefly, effects that change types are applied before effects that remove abilities, and removing an ability doesn't remove a change it made lower in the layers. – Arcanist Lupus May 18 at 7:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.