7

A card with devoid is colorless. But is it still colorless when it's a spell? I mean: when is it in the stack, that is, when it is not yet a permanent, and when it has not yet been resolved?

As an example, I can take a card called Unnatural Aggression (mana cost 2G,so that at first glance it may seem that the spell is green). Is it possible to choose as one of this spell's targets a creature that has "protection from colored spells" among its abilities?

13

702.113a Devoid is a characteristic-defining ability. “Devoid” means “This object is colorless.” This ability functions everywhere, even outside the game. See rule 604.3.

'Everywhere' includes the stack, so a creature with protection from green can still be targeted by Unnatural Aggression.

| improve this answer | |
  • Hi Glorfinder, and thanks. I started a "bounty" in order to get you a well-deserved prize from me for the many good answers received from you. But, still knowing too little about the options, I failed to adequately communicate my intention, and Murgatroid did not find my proposal interesting, canceling the "bounty". I hope to be able to repeat the operation better, maybe another time, and for better questions. – ManoFromBerlin Dec 7 '19 at 9:39
  • No problem, and remember you need the reputation more than I do :) – Glorfindel Dec 7 '19 at 9:44
  • I do not care much about reputation... – ManoFromBerlin Dec 7 '19 at 9:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.