5

Jodah, Archmage Eternal's ability says that I may pay one of each color rather than pay a spell's original mana cost

Morophon, the Boundless lets me choose a creature type and spells of that chosen type cost one of each color less to cast.

Simply, if I choose Wizards with Morophon, and I choose to pay one of each color to cast a Wizard spell with Jodah, will that creature cost 0??

1
6

Yes, that's correct. If the spell has the creature type you chose for Morophon, you can cast it for {0}—it will be free.

To determine the total cost of a spell we follow rule 601.2f:

601.2f. The player determines the total cost of the spell. [...] The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. [...] If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be {0}.

Jodah, Archmage Eternal provides an alternative cost for the spell of {W}{U}{B}{R}{G}.

Morophon, the Boundless provides a cost reduction of (again) {W}{U}{B}{R}{G}.

We choose to use Jodah's alternative cost, and we subtract Morophon's cost reduction from it. The total cost is reduced to nothing, making the spell cost {0}.

So you get a free spell! Congratulations!

1
  • And Blades of Velis Vel will be free no matter what creature type is chosen. Dec 8 '21 at 21:37
2

The total cost to cast a spell
= mana cost or alternative cost
+ additional costs and cost increases
- cost reductions

For creature spells of the chosen type,

So,

The total cost to cast the spell
= mana cost or alternative cost ({W}{U}{B}{R}{G})
+ additional costs (none) and cost increases (none)
- cost reductions ({W}{U}{B}{R}{G})
= Free

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.