If a creature has a P/T of *** / ***, but is not the battlefield, What is it's P/T with regards to effects that care about P/T such as Wild Pair and Varolz, the Scar-Striped.

If I used Varolz, the Scar-Striped to scavenge a Boneyard Wurm, and I have X creatures in my graveyard, do I get 0 counters or do I get X counters?

  • You should accept Collin's answer. PS this also works with Tarmagoyf.
    – wesdfgfgd
    May 7, 2013 at 20:17

1 Answer 1


It depends on the card in question. If it can't be determined use 0.

208.2a The card may have a characteristic-defining ability that sets its power and/or toughness according to some stated condition. (See rule 604.3.) Such an ability is worded "[This creature's] [power or toughness] is equal to . . ." or "[This creature's] power and toughness are each equal to . . ." This ability functions everywhere, even outside the game. If the ability needs to use a number that can't be determined, including inside a calculation, use 0 instead of that number. Example: Lost Order of Jarkeld has power and toughness each equal to 1+*. It has the abilities "As Lost Order of Jarkeld enters the battlefield, choose an opponent" and "Lost Order of Jarkeld's power and toughness are each equal to 1 plus the number of creatures the chosen player controls." While Lost Order of Jarkeld isn't on the battlefield, there won't be a chosen player. Its power and toughness will each be equal to 1 plus 0, so it's 1/1.

When you scavenge Boneyard Wurm you will get a number of +1/+1 counters equal the number of creatures in your graveyard before Boneyard Wurm is exiled. (A ruling on Varolz, the Scar-Striped reads: The number of counters that a card’s scavenge ability puts on a creature is based on the card’s power as it last existed in the graveyard.)


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .