3

When a Satyr Grovedancer enters on the battlefield and I choose a creature with heroic to recieve the a +1/+1 counter, does it trigger the heroic? I don't think so because the heroic says explicitly that when a spell targets that creature but I would like to check.

9

No. Heroic abilities trigger whenever you cast a spell that targets this object. Creature spells (e.g. Satyr Grovedancer) do not target. Satyr Grovedancer has a triggered ability that targets, but abilities aren't spells.

In contrast, Gossamer Phantasm has the ability When Gossamer Phantasm becomes the target of a spell or ability, sacrifice it. Targeting Gossamer Phantasm with Satyr Grovedancer's triggered ability would trigger Gossamer Phantasm's. (Gossamer Phantasm's will resolve first.)

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.