Folks, I would like to know if an effect like "players can't draw cards" prevents/cancel effects like "if you would draw a card, instead do X".

Because I wouldn't draw a card anyway, the effect does not takes place?

For a concrete example, think on Maralen of the Mornsong with Forbidden Crypt.

  • I'm almost sure nothing happens (the effect does not takes place), I just want to confirm. – Kira Jun 30 '16 at 16:08

The ruling on Maralen seems to support your conclusion that nothing happens:

4/1/2008: While Maralen is on the battlefield, replacement effects that instruct a player to do something instead of drawing a card won't work.


Can't beats can. So when something tells you to draw a card (say the beginning of your draw step), and Maralen telling you that you can't draw cards you do not get to draw a card. Since you are not drawing a card the Crypt's replacement effect doesn't have a chance to apply.

101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t” effect takes precedence.

614.7. If a replacement effect would replace an event, but that event never happens, the replacement effect simply doesn’t do anything.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.