6

It is my turn and I have Veteran Motorist and an Aethersphere Harvester on the battlefield.

Entering the declare attackers phase I announce/tap my motorist to crew the harvester. In response my opponent plays Disallow to counter my crewing the harvester.

Does this prevent me from crewing the harvester?

  • 5
    Slight correction: The Declare Attackers phase is too late to crew your Aethersphere Harvester if you want to attack with it. It isn't a creature, so you can't select it as an attacker (508.1a). The last chance to crew the vehicle is during the Beginning of Combat Step, (507.3). In this, it is important to be careful how you move from your main phase to combat; reason: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/28964/… – Drunk Cynic Feb 18 '17 at 16:42
6

Yes, Disallow will prevent you from crewing your vehicle: your vehicle will not become a creature, and the creatures you tapped to pay the crew cost will remain tapped.

From the comprehensive rules on Crew:

702.121a Crew is an activated ability of Vehicle cards. “Crew N” means “Tap any number of untapped creatures you control with total power N or greater: This permanent becomes an artifact creature until end of turn.”

This is an activated ability with a cost of tapping creatures and an effect of turning the vehicle into a creature. It's a legal target of Disallow, so we can prevent its effect from resolving.

Note that even despite the crew ability being countered, Veteran Motorist's ability would still trigger (because you tapped it to pay a crew cost), and the vehicle will still receive +1/+1 until end of turn. If you manage to turn the vehicle into a creature later this turn, that +1/+1 will start to apply.

  • 3
    Worth noting that there is nothing preventing you from using the crew ability again during the same turn if you've got enough untapped creatures. (The ones from the disallowed crewing will still be tapped) – Michael Anderson Feb 20 '17 at 2:50
  • 1
    Very late to the party, but in particular if you have two Veteran Motorists your vehicle will end up with +2/+2 until end of turn. – Stella Biderman Mar 22 '18 at 17:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.