In a monthly game night, my friend interprets the rules to say that if I have a village or city on my road, it reduces the "longest road" length. I interpret the rules as saying that my village/city on my road does not impact the road length.

Which is the correct interpretation?

2 Answers 2


You are correct.

Your own cities do not affect your status towards the "Longest Road" You can view the official rules here, from pg. 9 (emphasis is mine).

You can break an opponent’s road by building a settlement on an open intersection along his road!

On page 8, in the example, Emily has the longest road card with 7 segments. She has two houses within those 7 segments.

This was also answered directly in the online FAQ as pointed out by @shemmon.


To affect the road length, the village/city must be from another player.

And it only limits the counting of the road through that village/city. You can count up to the village/city that is not yours.

Also, here's a more official 'no:' https://www.catan.com/faq/4607-longest-road-do-my-own-settlements-interrupt-my-continuous-road

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .