1

I ask because I was summoning my Blue Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon with Chaos Form. And it requires to either remove Blue Eyes White Dragon from the game or to sacrifice monsters from my hand whose levels are greater than or equal to it's level. Now while it is a special summon, is it still a tribute summon since the ritual requires me to tribute monsters for it?

  • no it is not a tribute summon it is a ritual summon – WhatsThePoint Jan 18 '18 at 15:51
  • 1
    @WhatsThePoint would you mind posting that answer as an answer and adding substantiation? – doppelgreener Jan 18 '18 at 15:53
  • @doppelgreener i dont have time to create an asnwer at the moment, but basically along the lines as a tribute summon is still classed as a normal summon, but a ritual summon is classed as a special summon – WhatsThePoint Jan 18 '18 at 15:55
4

A Ritual Summon is a type of Special Summon, and a Tribute Summon is a type of Normal Summon. These types of summoning are distinct, so ritual summoning Chaos Max will not count as a tribute summon.

Yes, it's true that ritual summoning requires you to tribute monsters from your hand or field (or other places, depending on the card), but tributing these monsters is merely a cost for the special summon. Just because tributing is involved doesn't make it the same as normal summoning a level 5 or higher monster by tributing a monster(s) you control.

However, as an aside, it should be noted that in both the case of a ritual summon and a tribute summon, any effect of the tributed monster that triggers when it is tributed will still trigger (for example, Evoltile Najasho's effect will trigger regardless of whether if it was tributed for a tribute summon, a ritual summon or even a card effect like Big Evolution Pill).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.