9

If I activate my The Scarab God on Jace, Vryn's Prodigy and then flip the token of Jace, do I still get a Jace, Telepath Unbound? And if so, what zone does Jace, Telepath Unbound go to when he dies?

8

No, you cannot transform a token of Jace, Vryn's Prodigy this way.

110.5g A token that has left the battlefield can’t move to another zone or come back onto the battlefield. If such a token would change zones, it remains in its current zone instead. It ceases to exist the next time state-based actions are checked; see rule 704.

So any effect that exiles a token and then brings it back will fail to bring it back, and it will cease to exist next time state-based actions are checked.

Note that you cannot transform any token that is copying a double-faced card; but for a different reason. If you have a token copy of Delver of Secrets, and try to transform it, it will also fail.

701.27a To transform a permanent, turn it over so that its other face is up. Only permanents represented by double-faced cards can transform.

110.5e A token is subject to anything that affects permanents in general or that affects the token’s card type or subtype. A token isn’t a card (even if represented by a card that has a Magic back or that came from a Magic booster pack).

  • 1
    Agreed I have changed the subject. Thank you for the answer! – Christopher Jun 26 '18 at 18:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.