12

I have a typically mono red Goblins deck.

My question, are tokens considered Goblins too?

For example, I have 10 1/1 Goblin tokens put onto the battlefield by Krenko, Mob Boss. Can I use those tokens for Skirk Fire Marshal's ability?

  • the point is, for example i have 10 1/1 Goblin token put onto battlefield by Krenko, mob boss, my question is, i can sacrifice those tokens to play Skirk fire Marshal spell? Skirk fire marshall is: tap 5 untapped Goblins you control, then skirk marshall do 10 dmg to each creature and player – user27744 Jul 3 at 9:30
  • @user27744 you don't sacrifice goblins to activate Skirk Fire Marshall's ability (you tap them). Unless you mean you also have a Skirk Prospector in play and are just casting the Skirk Fire Marshall? – xploshun Jul 3 at 9:40
20

Yes, the tokens created by Krenko, Mob Boss are creatures with the subtype Goblin. That subtype is exactly what the word 'Goblin' on Skirk Fire Marshal is referring to, so you can use them. (They also count for Krenko, Mob Boss' ability if you activate it a second time. Goblin exponentation FTW!)

The relevant rules are:

110.5c A spell or ability that creates a token sets both its name and its subtype. If the spell or ability doesn’t specify the name of the token, its name is the same as its subtype(s). A “Goblin Scout creature token,” for example, is named “Goblin Scout” and has the creature subtypes Goblin and Scout. Once a token is on the battlefield, changing its name doesn’t change its subtype, and vice versa.

109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield.

110.1. A permanent is a card or token on the battlefield.

13

Yes, a "Goblin creature token", such as those created by Krenko, has the "Goblin" subtype:

110.5c A spell or ability that creates a token sets both its name and its subtype. If the spell or ability doesn’t specify the name of the token, its name is the same as its subtype(s). A “Goblin Scout creature token,” for example, is named “Goblin Scout” and has the creature subtypes Goblin and Scout. Once a token is on the battlefield, changing its name doesn’t change its subtype, and vice versa.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.