8

An opponent kills my Irencrag Pyromancer with Ob Nixilis, the Hate-Twisted's minus ability ("Destroy target creature. It's controller draws 2 cards.") on their turn. Would I get a trigger on Irencrag Pyromancer for drawing my second card this turn before it is destroyed, or is it destroyed first, and only then I would draw my two cards?

10

You perform instructions in an ability in the order in which they are written. So, in this scenario, the creature is destroyed then you draw the cards. Creatures that are destroyed die immediately, so the Pyromancer is already dead by the time you draw the cards and its triggered ability will not trigger.


Rules section 608 describes how to resolve spells and abilities, and rule 608.2c says

The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written. However, replacement effects may modify these actions. In some cases, later text on the card may modify the meaning of earlier text (for example, “Destroy target creature. It can’t be regenerated” or “Counter target spell. If that spell is countered this way, put it on top of its owner’s library instead of into its owner’s graveyard.”) Don’t just apply effects step by step without thinking in these cases—read the whole text and apply the rules of English to the text.

| improve this answer | |
  • 16
    It might be worth mentioning that "destroy" removes the creature from the battlefield immediately rather than waiting for state-based effects to be checked. After all, if Ob Nixilis instead read "deal 4 damage to a creature, its controller draws 2 cards", the pyromancer would trigger. – Arcanist Lupus Jul 17 at 4:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.