If I cast Winds of Abandon for its overload cost which says,

Exile each creature you don't control. For each creature exiled this way, its controller searches his or her library for a basic land card. Those players put those cards onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle their libraries.

and an opponent has 5 creatures, does that opponent search their library five times for 1 basic land or search once for 5 basic lands?

  • 2
    Is there a reason the distinction matters to you?
    – John
    Mar 26, 2022 at 12:44
  • @John this makes a difference when the owner of Winds of Abandon also controls an Opposition Agent for example.
    – bautista
    Mar 28, 2022 at 7:11
  • @bautista I am not seeing why this matters for Opposition Agent.
    – John
    Mar 28, 2022 at 14:57
  • 1
    @John you're right! Aven Mindcensor works as an example though.
    – bautista
    Mar 29, 2022 at 6:05
  • 2
    @John I had a Winds of Abandon and Ob Nixilis, Unshackled combo in mind; thinking Ob would ping someone for like 50 dmg
    – BeanDragon
    Mar 31, 2022 at 19:06

1 Answer 1


Just once - multiple searches that occur before shuffling are treated as a single search.

701.19h An effect may instruct a player to search a library for one or more cards more than once before instructing a player to shuffle that library. This is the same as a single instruction for that player to search that library for all those cards. The player searches that library only once.

Since Winds of Abandon instructs the player to potentially search their library multiple times for a basic land and then shuffle, it should be treated as searching the library once for multiple basic lands.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .