In a multiplayer game one of my opponents has a felidar sovereign and is at 39 life and I am at 2 life. He attacks me with a 2/2 lifelink creature, but before damage is dealt I concede. Does the lifelink still gain my opponent enough life to win with felidar sovereign at the beginning of his upkeep, thereby letting my other opponent lose the game or do I only lose and do my opponents still need to continue the game to determine who wins?

  • 1
    Related also: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/32736/…
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Apr 21, 2017 at 15:04
  • Of course, you could have used lighting bolt on him and rob him of 3 life instead of just 2.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Apr 21, 2017 at 15:06
  • 1
    @GendoIkari Or the creature so you don't die and they don't win (yet)
    – diego
    Commented Apr 21, 2017 at 15:07
  • @diego I should have chosen something that could only deal damage to myself Commented Apr 21, 2017 at 15:09
  • @IvardeBruin Lava Spike can only target players if you want to change it
    – diego
    Commented Apr 21, 2017 at 15:11

1 Answer 1


The lifelinking creature does not deal damage, which means your opponent does not gain life, and the rest of the table will need to keep playing.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .