I’m asking myself if I can get back a cycled Street Wraith using the cycle ability and a Noxious Revival.

The idea is:

  • Use cycle ability, pay two life and discard, the ability goes on the stack
  • Play Noxious Revival targeting Wraith in the graveyard to put it on top of the deck
  • Resolve Noxious Revival
  • Resolve the cycle ability to draw the Wraith

The discard part of cycle is part of the activation cost? So does it resolve before the ability?

The reason to do that is to take advantage of life loss in a deck like death's shadow

  • You keep using the word "trigger" in a ways that don't make sense to me. Drawing a card is an effect, not a trigger. Commented May 17, 2018 at 16:39
  • @Acccumulation you are right, I will change in ability on the stack and after all is an activated Commented May 17, 2018 at 16:42

1 Answer 1


Yes, you can do this.

Street Wraith has the ability

Cycling—Pay 2 life.

which (as the reminder text states) is shorthand702.28a for

Pay 2 life, Discard this card: Draw a card.

Since this is an activated ability, everything to the left of the colon (:) character is the cost that must be paid to use the ability.602.1a You pay the cost (discard the card and pay 2 life) and the ability is placed on the stack.

Once the ability hits the stack, it follows all the usual rules for resolution - including allowing players to respond by using different spells or abilities.602.2b At this point you can use Noxious Revival; it also goes on the stack.

Once everybody passes priority, the spells resolve in LIFO order: Noxious Revival resolves first, letting you place the Street Wraith on top of your library, followed by Street Wraith's cycling ability, which lets you draw a card.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .