11

Ok, let's say we just started Power Grid game for 4 players: A, B, C and D. We will be focusing on Step 1st/Phase 2nd, which is the first Auction Power Plants phase in the game. We have (randomly) determined initial player order, which we can assume is now ABCD.

Exception: In the first round of the game, each player must buy a power plant.

Ok, so let's assume that this is what happens in the first round's Auction Phase:

  1. A selects Power Plant, D wins the first auction.
  2. B selects Power Plant, B wins the auction.
  3. C selects Power Plant, C wins the auction.

Now, this would be D's turn to select the Power Plant, except he has already bought one, so he cannot bid nor offer a plant at auction.

Once a player has purchased a power plant in a round, he cannot bid in another auction in the same round, nor can he offer a plant at auction.

Does that mean we are back to A, and he selects Power Plant as the last player this round and therefore buys it at a starting price? Or was he obligated to choose plant again after D won the first auction?

Side note: I was quoting Official Rules found on RioGrandeGames.com.

16

After D won the first auction, Player A is obligated to choose a plant again. You may have missed this on page 3 of the rules:

When the auctioning player wins the auction and gets the power plant, the next player in turn order takes his turn at offering a power plant for auction, if he has not already purchased a power plant this round. If he has, the next player in turn order may start an auction, and so on. When a player other than the player who started the auction wins the auction, the auctioning player may choose a new plant to auction from the actual market or pass.

Since the exception says everyone must buy a power plant first round, Player A may not pass.

You Shall Not Pass

  • You are right, I wasn't aware of this rule. Makes more sense now, thank you. – beam022 Oct 31 '12 at 16:11
  • I played my first game 2 days ago and made D pick the powerplant and bought bad powerplant and bad rate. Thank you for clarification :) – Usman Zaheer Sep 8 '16 at 0:32

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.