6

When a runner uses Inside Job, does the runner only bypass the first 'rezzed' piece of ice, since the card text says 'bypass the first piece of ice encountered during the run.' ? ( emphasis added)

If yes, does that mean if the corp. does not rez any ice, 'Inside Job' has no effect?

  • If the corp doesn't rez ice it has an effect, the effect being it discouraged rezzing the ice. Often I see inside job played against a single ice server, the corp doesn't bother to spend and rez, since they have to pay but get no benefit. – Andrew Dec 21 '17 at 0:40
7

Summary: Inside Job bypasses the first piece of face up ice on a server, regardless of when that was rezzed.

Note: there are some effects that can cause to to encounter ice that hasn't been installed, such as Archangel, or that is installed on Awakening Center. These can also be bypassed with Inside Job if the server has no rezzed ice in front of it.


The specific rule for encountering ice is:

If the approached piece of ice is rezzed after the Corporation has the opportunity to rez cards, then the Runner encounters it.

The confusion here probably comes from the fact that "rezzed" is both an adjective and a verb, depending on context. In this particular piece of rules, we are dealing with the adjectival form. Let me translate:

If the approached piece of ice is [face up] after the Corporation has the opportunity to [turn cards face up], then the Runner encounters it.

If the ice is face up, it is encountered. This includes ice that has been turned face up on previous runs/turns. The reason for the extra bits of the sentence is to clarify that even if the ice was rezzed just now, it is still encountered (see the run structure chart at the end of the rulebook).

If you want to stop Inside Job, try effects that prevent bypassing, like the ability on Guard.

  • I really like your answer for the quotes and thoroughness, but I think it could benefit from a summary, like: bypass typically only applies to rezzed ice because typically only rezzed ice are encountered. – Andrew Vandever May 26 '15 at 17:55
  • 1
    @AndrewVandever i added a summary. Is there ever a situation where unrezzed ice is encountered? – Zags May 26 '15 at 18:00
  • 1
    @TheDarkLord If the runner encounters no ice then Inside Job does nothing. However, this only happens if the cop has no face up ice on the server AND turns no ice face up during the run. Basically, inside job only does nothing if the sever is unprotected and the runner just gets in anyways. This really only matters if you have only one piece of ice on the server and it's still unrezzed, in which case don't bother rezzing it if the runner is using Inside Job. – Zags May 26 '15 at 18:15
  • 1
    there are some ICE and Awakening Center, that forces the runner to encounter a ICE wich was never rezzed :D – diego.martinez Aug 21 '15 at 15:10
  • 1
    @diego.martinez actually, Awakening Center rezzes the ice before it forces the encounter – Zags Aug 25 '15 at 18:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.