0

Card in question: Éomer of the Riddermark

Whenever Éomer of the Riddermark attacks, if you control a creature with the greatest power among creatures on the battlefield, create a 1/1 white Human Soldier creature token.

If you and opponent both control a creature with equal power, does this ability trigger? I'd have expected this to be in a ruling, but surprisingly, there is no ruling on Gatherer.

1 Answer 1

5

Yes.
There's not really rules to back it up, besides english.

If you control a creature with the greatest power...

The "a" implies there can be more than one such creature.

The text is equivalent to

If you control a creature with power equal to the greatest power...

4
  • Hmm, looks like I was too fixated on "greatest power" being a superlative.
    – Allure
    Aug 29, 2023 at 2:34
  • 1
    The "greatest power among creatures on the battlefield" is some well defined number, even if multiple creatures have that power. Then you can easily check whether you have a creature with that power.
    – murgatroid99
    Aug 29, 2023 at 2:53
  • There are cards such as Selvala, Heart of the Wilds which care about a single creature having the greatest power, but those are worded euqally unambiguously.
    – Hackworth
    Aug 29, 2023 at 15:14
  • Interestingly, Padeem, Consul of Innovation doesn't follow the same templating. Aug 29, 2023 at 22:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .