Questions tagged [lords-of-waterdeep]

Strategy board game for 2-5 players, related to Dungeons & Dragons. A game consists of 8 rounds during which players attempt to increase their control over a city and its treasures.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
177 views

Sample Wares Intrigue Card Disambiguation

The card Sample Wares states: Assign 1 of your unused Agent to a Building in Builder's Hall. You immediately use the effect of that Building as though you controlled it. This is very strange ...
4
votes
1answer
384 views

Dungeons and Dragons Lords of Waterdeep: Which piece is the Ambassador and which the Lieutenant?

There are two special Agent-like pieces in Lords of Waterdeep: the Ambassador, obtained temporarily by assigning an agent to the Palace of Waterdeep, and the Lieutenant, obtained permanently by ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

Do free buildings give accumulated victory points?

Some quests (like Lure Artisans of Mirabar), and maybe some intrigue cards, allow you to place a building from Builder's Hall into play at no cost. Does the player also score the accumulated victory ...
3
votes
1answer
497 views

Are the owner benefits from Impersonate Tax Collector part of an action?

The Lords of Waterdeep expansion card Impersonate Tax Collector lets you take the main benefit and the owner benefit on your buildings. Are both of these rewards part of the action of assigning an ...
3
votes
2answers
755 views

Do intrigue cards have to be resolved?

This question came up in my game group. A player had a completed plot quest that gave him 2 victory points every time he played an intrigue card. Is it possible to play an intrigue card and not ...
6
votes
1answer
732 views

How do you evaluate a building or plot quest?

Some plot quests and buildings are clearly better than others. Is there a way to at least approximately quantify how much better?
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Returning agents to pool in in Waterdeep Harbor phase

If I move an agent from Waterdeep Harbour and complete a quest which allows me to return agents to my pool, can I assign those agents again this round? If so, can these agents be placed in the ...
2
votes
1answer
241 views

In Lords of Waterdeep on iOS, why does placing a corruption token on The Palace of Waterdeep indicate you won't get to take the Ambassador?

This question is prompted by the iOS implementation of the game by Playdek, so it may just be a flaw in the game, but I'm just checking to make sure there isn't some rule that I'm not aware of. Here'...
2
votes
1answer
865 views

Can “Produce a Miracle for the Masses” be used to replace multiple cubes?

The card states: Once per round, whenever you take an action that provides any [white], you can also replace [orange], [black], or [purple] with [white]. The white cube is qualified by "any", ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

Building Limit in Lords or Waterdeep

Why is there a limit to how many buildings can built by each player? I was the builder lady lord, using the Undermountain Expansion, and would have been about to build 12+ buildings, but game rules ...
3
votes
3answers
3k views

Are there any Xanathar Strategies for Skullport

I played a game of Lords of Waterdeep and received The Xanathar as my lord, who in my opinion is the worst of them all. My question is are there any viable strategies to win with the Xanathar, ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I complete a quest during the “Waterdeep Harbor” phase?

Can I place an agent in Waterdeep Harbor, complete a quest, and later, after all players have finished, place my agent on another space and complete a second quest? Using this strategy, a player ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

In Lords of Waterdeep, how is Accelerated Plans played?

In Lords of Waterdeep the intrigue card Accelerate Plans says: Choose one of your agents assigned to Waterdeep Harbor. Return it to your pool, then immediately assign two agents. Our resident "...
2
votes
2answers
914 views

Does the Waymoot get 4 VPs if it shows up on the 1st round?

At the start of the first round, if The Waymoot is one of three starting buildings, do you put 4 VP on it (i.e. 3 from the building description and 1 from the VP on the 1st round area)?
2
votes
1answer
208 views

Can you spend more than 2 gold on the House of Wonder to purchase more than one Cleric or Wizard?

The House of Wonder says you can spend 2 gold to get either a cleric or a wizard. If I have 4 gold, can I get 2 of those adventurers in one turn?
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How can I balance mandatory quests in two-player games of Lords of Waterdeep?

I am looking for a variant to balance out mandatory quests when playing 2 player. I understand that normally they are powerful, and exist as a catch up mechanic, allowing all players to target the ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Can one player put more than one of his agents at Waterdeep Harbor?

In Lords of Waterdeep, can I place more than one of my agents at Waterdeep Harbor? For example, at the end of the round, can two of my agents occupy two spaces at Waterdeep Harbor?