8

There are already quite a few ways you could deal with this, some based in the rules, and some beyond the rules: As long as one of your units can see the hidden unit, it stops being hidden From the rulebook (page 11): If an enemy moves so that he can see the hidden warrior, the model is no longer hidden and the counter is removed. It may be worth ...


6

I think this is pretty clear, if you trim out some of the extra stuff in those quotes: you may not move within 3" of any enemy models and has models within 3" of an enemy unit It seems clear to me that you cannot avoid the charge phase - you can't move within 3", and you can't fight without being within 3". At the very least, the intent of the rules ...


5

This is not from me, but I approve it :) Skaven pros - They have access to vast arrays of troops/troop types, and can get them in vast quantities. The leadership rules they come with over-ride what would be a fatal weakness and combined with the new re-roll of all leadership tests allowed by the BSB and the general's leadership in a 24" diameter bubble ...


4

There's no hard and fast rule for it. I would suggest using a base size most appropriate for the size of the model. So if the model is Terminator sized, use a 40mm, if Dreadnought sized, use a 60mm. So convert your model and use what makes sense. This requires a bit of good judgement and common sense. If you made a reasonable selection most people ...


4

Gaming miniatures are usually described as Xmm rather than 'X/Y(th)' as is used in scale modelling. The distance is from the base to the eyes on a normal human. Current new models coming out for Wahammer Fantasy are 32mm Heroic scale. GW has been pushing up the scale of the game in recent years, ostensibly so that more detail can be fit onto plastic ...


4

No. The points listed in the Necromancer entry shows how much buying him a Corpse Cart mount costs (which is why it is 90 points, the cost of a Corpse Cart). If you pay for a character to have a mount the character gets the mount, there is no additional mounting fee.


4

For cosmetic stuff like this, you should be ok. The ITC rules certainly don't make any distinction about things like that, as long as it is clear what the model represents. Other tournaments may have differing rules - for example the NOVA open tournament states that if your models are different from the standard, you cannot gain any unfair advantages (for ...


3

The in/out of print status has no bearing on ownership of copyright for a work. Since you modified the question to be about the UK, the governing authority is the Intellectual Property Office. IANAL, this does not constitute legal advice. The term of protection or duration of copyright varies depending on the type of copyright work. The term of protection ...


3

No, they do not get any additional movement. What happens is the unit is not engaged in a combat, so it does nothing in the close combat phase. I assume you are thiking of the Overrun rule? Where if you wipe out a unit in close combat on the turn you charge you get to move another 2D6" forward afterwards. The rules for Overrun (8th Edition Rulebook, pg ...


3

I believe this is intended to mean "one use only" per rune item which has the rune. I cannot find anywhere this is stated outright in the 8th ed rules, but this is how such items have always been played, at least in my personal and tournament experience. It would be odd for them to let you take more than one and then limit you to only using one of the ...


3

The Vargheist is supposed to have 4 attacks. Its profile states it has 3 attacks naturally, and then you add 1 for the frenzy special rule. This is due to the unit being able to lose Frenzy, and as such losing the extra attack, without changing the unit's baseline. This is the same for other units such as Witch Elves, and dual wielding units, with the ...


3

By default the skeletons come armed with light armour, a hand weapon, and a shield. The combination of hand weapon and shield gives you an additional 6+ Parry Save (8th Ed rulebook, pg 88), which you may make against close combat attacks. They have a 5+ Armour Save and 6+ Ward save. If you give them spears they lose this extra Parry Save, instead gaining ...


3

A model with Hand Weapon and Shield can use the 'Parry' special rule to get a ward save. A model with a spear cannot. Since skeletons are weak and have poor weapon skill anyway, it may be beneficial to have better survivability rather than a few more attacks that are unlikely to hurt anything, depending on what role you see the unit filling in your army.


3

From BRB p97. A character must move into a unit to join it. There is no rule that allows the unit to move to the character. A character cannot join a unit in close combat. You can however, simply charge into combat alongside the character. This is often to your advantage for that particular combat, other than not being able to use the character's ...


3

There is no official method of doing this. However at out local club we do things like this all the time as we often play casual games for fun. I would advise looking for the lord/hero with the closest stat line and use his base points, make sure you don't have any lower stats that the codex character though. Use his equipment list for any items you ...


3

2 reasons that I could find: It is a reference to the people that use them. Only cold-blooded people can ride them without a problem They see all warm-blooded things as prey, so they are the cold ones and the enemy the warm ones Source: http://warhammerfantasy.wikia.com/wiki/Cold_Ones


2

Easy. Pick an 40K army from one of the formats and model your stats off of it, but use Warhammer Fantasy models. For example if your fantasy army has a lot of melee units, why not model them after tyranids like the hormagaunt? Then just use the tyranid rules and costs, 40k rules, and your fantasy models. Fluffing it up is up to you! "Oh, no he didn't mutate ...


2

Yes you need two hand weapons to claim an extra attack. Spear + Hand weapon does not grant a bonus attack. P89, Two Special Close Combat Weapons: "A model can't .. wield .. (an) additional hand weapon alongside another type of special weapon.."


2

In the character mounts section, the rules say: A chariot mount follows all the rules for ridden monsters, save for the fact that a chariot does not need to take a monster Reaction test if the character is slain. (pg 105) As such, if the Corpse Cart were to die, the Necromancer in question would proceed on foot, as he would have if he were on a Ridden ...


2

No, they do not. As you said, they did not cost anything to inlude in the army so are worth zero (unless the unit has a rule that states otherwise). In addition to which, many summoning spells explicitly state this. For example, Raise Dead: Units summoned by this spell cannot be dispelled, and do not award victory points under any circumstances. (...


2

Invocation of Nehek (Vampire Counts 8th Ed, pg 60) says that "Wounds gained are distributed as described in Ressurecting Fallen Warriors". The rules for Ressurecting Fallen Warriors (Vampire Counts 8th Ed, pg 26) state that "A unit cannot be taken beyond it's starting size, though certain powers, spells and special rules may provide exceptions". So the ...


2

This exact situation is covered under Incomplete Ranks in the Close Combat section of the rules (pg 49.) If the unit is fighting to its rear (or fighting to both flanks) some enemy models might not end up in base contact because of the models in the incomplete rear rank. In this specific situation, the models can fight across the gap, even if not ...


2

It says it in the spell description. On page 15 of the Nagash book each spell states what type can be summoned and can only be "selected from the Undead Legioins army list (page 20). Hope that helps.


2

Games Workshop have replied to my email: Thanks for the email. I can confirm for you that the iBook contains everything that the physical copy contains except the paper! I hope that this helps, but if you need anything further, please let me know. Kind regards Lydia It looks like iBook has a complete ruleset too.


2

For the sake of completeness: Now Warhammer Fantasy is rebranded to Warhammer Age of Sigmar, that allows you to play with "whatever the heck you want" in any game. But even if you want to play rules hardcorelly, now they are only 4 factions, Order, Chaos, Destruction and Death. All the armies you named in your question are part of "Order" so, by the new ...


2

So, it actually depends on the Version you're using. On 6ed et 7ed, mercenary did exist and (at least for 6ed) ogres had a special rules that let them be purchased as mercenary for anyone except Bretonnia. (I do not recall Lizardman beeing able to recruit them, but i've lost my 6ed book..) Since 8ed, there is no mercenary that exists per se, there is "pacts"...


2

You could take some hints from FPS games, namely games with snipers. Once a sniper gets into a strong nest, it can be hard to dislodge them since getting to them leaves you exposed and you can't shoot back at them until you're close. Some games put objectives out into the open. Since your objective is elimination, why not put some sort of buff/equipment/...


2

As of '8-25-17', coinciding with Games Workshop's "General's Handbook 2017," Warhammer Community has released updated FAQs for the Grand Alliances, as well as updated the legacy Compendiums for the old armies (Bretonnia, Beastmen, Tomb Kings, etc). In these Compendiums, at the very end, there are list of units with Substitute Warscrolls, as was stated by ...


2

Age of Sigmar is very much designed with the "beer and pretzels" mindset. The main reason is that you may have a bunch of models without shields. If your opponent doesn't care, you can always say that all the models have shields.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible