12

The combo is what is known as a "pin", although the biggest problem with it has been somewhat fixed in the 2nd version of Intrigue, which changed how Masquerade works. For reference, the three cards are (using their 1st edition wordings): King's Court: You may choose an Action card in your hand. Play it three times. Goons: +1 Buy. +$2. Each other ...


12

There is a standard way to store those cards in the big box. Your big box should've come with a couple of large bookmark-shaped cards. One side has a bunch of card names upon decorative scrolls, like this: photo from Board Game Barker What you're supposed to do with this organiser card is to lay it down in the center of the box, between all the card slots. ...


10

You do not replace the coin tokens. So with Colonies in the game, and no other extra victory cards, yes, four is the maximum number of coins on the mat. Remember that there potentially are other victory cards among the kingdom cards in the game, though, depending on what expansions you're playing with - like Gardens from the base game, and many others. Why? ...


9

You are playing the buy phase incorrectly. In the buy phase, you always play all of your treasure cards, one at a time, before you buy any card. In fact, you are not allowed to play any more treasure cards after you buy a card. You never play specific treasure cards to buy specific cards. Don't think of treasures as the currency you use to buy cards. Rather, ...


5

One thing to note is that Masquerade was updated for second edition Intrigue. Originally, if you had no cards in hand when it was time to pass cards; you simply didn’t pass one, but you still received one. In the new edition wording, if you don’t have a card to pass, then you don’t receive one either. On first edition, the idea was that you could use this ...


4

The answer from Pat Ludwig is correct, this is just additional clarifications of the rules regarding the tracking of actions: Donald X writes: If you TR or KC a duration card, leave out the TR or KC with the duration card. [It's tracking that you doubled or tripled that card] If you TR or KC a TR-or-KC used on a single duration card (and up to 2 non-...


3

Not quite. Effects only fail if their conditions can't be met - for example, if Tragic Hero had said "Trash this to gain a Treasure"[1], then that wouldn't activate. However, instead, it goes like this: Play a King's Court from your hand - Select Tragic Hero to play 3 times - Play Tragic Hero 1st time - Draw 3 cards - Get +1 Buy - Play Tragic ...


2

You do not replace them, but four is not the maximum number of coins: the kingdom may include victory cards like Harem, Gardens, or Feodum.


1

Trade Route tokens are never replaced. They're either on the Victory cards or on the Trade Route mat. Remember that if you gain a card, you also transfer the token over to the mat. Last but not least, each Victory card, whether it's a starter card (e.g. Estate, Duchy, Province, Colony) or Kingdom card (e.g. Garden, Fairground, etc.) starts off with a ...


1

I bought a 1000 card box and used index card halves for dividers (longer than the card length). I have like 5-6 sets. I combined all the sets together and then separated first by purchase cost (6+ as one grouping) then by alphabet groupings like A-M, N-Z, etc. In this manner it cuts down on the time it takes to put cards away since you don't have to find ...


1

Yes, there is what the rulebook says for choosing randomly. But there are two primary effects of these cards and honestly I think the bigger issue is which effect matters more for you. Platinum and Colony extend the depth of strategy you can put into a build up. They tend to make for longer games, but games in which you could take things further. This is a ...


1

Necroing as there are several new expansions now. Adds the least complexity to the game: Base > Intrigue > Cornucopia > Guilds > Seaside > Prosperity > Hinterlands > Alchemy > Dark Ages Completely personal preference (subjective, obvi) Guilds > Dark Ages > Prosperity > Hinterlands > Seaside > Alchemy > Intrigue > Cornucopia > Base Most experienced ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible