Questions tagged [gin-rummy]

Card game played with one pack of cards by two players who seek to 'meld' sets of three or four cards of the same rank to clear their hand.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
71 views

In Rummy-Gin, who start after a round was played to the wall?

In Gin-Rummy, when the deck reach the last 2 cards and no player have knocked, the rounds end in a draw. Who starts the next round?
1
vote
2answers
80 views

In Gin-Rummy, what are the chances to start with a Gin?

In Gin-Rummy, in the start of a round players draw 10 cards. What is the probability to draw 10 cards such that all the cards are part of some meld?
1
vote
1answer
39 views

Rummy version with a run of seven as last round

I've been trying to remember the details on a gin rummy game I played when I was younger. This game had the last round require a "run of seven" and a set of three. Looking at Wikipedia I see Contract ...
3
votes
1answer
367 views

What is the bonus points for Gin and Undercut?

In the traditional rules of Gin-Rummy: Is going Gin worth 20 or 25? Is undercutting worth 10 points? If a player knocks and is undercut by their opponent and this opponent lays off and has no ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

What is the purpose of bonus points in gin rummy?

What purpose do the bonus points after a player wins a game of gin serve? Let's say two players agree to play a game to 100 points. At the end of the game, the typical rules call for bonus points to ...
5
votes
1answer
426 views

Gin Rummy, incorrect knocking

What is the penalty for going down with a hand that has more than 10 points? For example, a player may lay down a 4d,5d,6d but one of the cards is actually of the heart suit.
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Misreading your hand when knocking in Gin

What happens when a player knocks and misreads their hand? This hand recently came up: I announced a knock but mistakenly included a card as deadwood that could have been played. If the card (6c) ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

If you knock, but actually have a gin hand, is it valid to change it after you've knocked?

I was playing a game of gin rummy when I knocked for a non-zero amount. As I laid out my cards, I noticed that I could have rearranged to cards and gone gin. Now this isn't a question about whether ...
1
vote
1answer
5k views

How is a gin rummy hand scored if both the knocking and defending player have gin?

I am playing with the Big Gin variant, which is not part of the base game. Say I pick up a card from the deck which makes me a gin hand. Only, I don't realise it due to say, misreading my hand, or I ...
2
votes
1answer
9k views

In Gin, What Happens When One Calls But the Opposing Player has A Lower Call Card?

In Gin, What Happens When One Calls But the Opposing Player has A Lower Call Card? Eg. The call card is 10, and I call placing everything but a 6. My opponent didn't call, but was able to place ...
7
votes
2answers
264 views

In 2 player, 10 card Gin, figuring out opponents cards

What tactics can you use to help determine what your opponent is looking for in two player 10 card Gin?