Questions tagged [catan-cities-and-knights]

An expansion for Catan that lets players improve their cities, create new commodities, and use their newly empowered knights to conquer the island of Catan.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0 votes
1 answer
81 views

I have game Catan 3061 and want to buy an extension, are extensions 3066 and 3078 the same?

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/344333090392539/?ref=search&referral_code=marketplace_search&referral_story_type=post&tracking=browse_serp%3Add6711d2-6b1a-4fe2-bd24-1828b21608e8 ...
user avatar
-2 votes
1 answer
107 views

Aqueduct - right or duty?

Rules: If, when the dice are rolled for production, you do not receive any resources or commodities, you may take any one resource of your choice from the bank. You may not, however, use this ability ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
135 views

Empty bank and Aqueduct

Our situation: Extension Cities&Knights Dices gave us the number 9 All players have settlement in the corner of hexes with number 9 and both 9 hexes are grain There are not enough grain cards in ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
306 views

Barbarian attack In Catan - Cities and Knights

4 of us were playing Catan - Cities and Knights, the barbarians attacked and the situation was as follows: Player 1 has 2 cities and 1 knight. Player 2 and 3 each have 1 city and 1 knight. Player 4 ...
user avatar
  • 31
1 vote
1 answer
189 views

Catan: Cities and Knights: "Using" progress cards to get them out of your hand [duplicate]

Can you "use" a mining card without being adjacent to ore, or an irrigation card without being adjacent to wheat, in order to get them out of your hand and prevent opponents from spying them?...
user avatar
  • 11
3 votes
1 answer
81 views

Can we play Conquerers if we don't have Cities and Knights?

We have the base Catan and the Cities and Knights: Legend of the Conquerers scenario extension set. But we don't have the Cities and Knights set. We also have the Seafearers extension. Is there a way ...
user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
503 views

Settlers of Catan Cities and Knights: Can Longest Road Leave the Game? [duplicate]

Background In C&K, it is possible for your road length to decrease. If you have the longest road, and it gets shortened (by the Diplomat progress card or by an opponent's knight), what happens to ...
user avatar
  • 163
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Catan Road Eligibility for Diplomat with Knight In Between?

I recently played a game of Catan with Cities and Knights. We had a situation like the following (excuse the horrendously crude art). Where an Orange Knight (A) is breaking up some roads between two ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Using the Deserter card in Catan Cities & Knights after realizing you can't place a knight instead

Please help me to determine if the following move is legal: The active player uses the Deserter card and chooses another's player knight to steal. After revealing the card and asking to steal the ...
user avatar
  • 21
2 votes
1 answer
218 views

Can you chase away the robber if your knight is not active at the beginning of your turn?

Can you use your knight to chase away the robber if it was inactive at the beginning of your turn?
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
329 views

Catan - Cities & Knights - Barbarian Attack

Player A have 2 cities and 1 active knight point, player B have 2 cities and 2 active knight points and player C have no city and no active knight. What will happen when the barbarians attack? No ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
688 views

Catan cities and knights 2 player variation [closed]

At start of player one turn ,he rolls all three dice twice. Is correct sequence roll 1st set of dice then 2nd set then resolve both event rolls then distribute resources, or , roll 1st set of dice ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
745 views

Settlers of Catan: Cities and Knights - Rule Clarificarions

The rules of Cities and Knights state the following: "...you may not purchase any improvements beyond the third level of a given color unless you have a city where you could build a metropolis." Let'...
user avatar
  • 41
2 votes
1 answer
430 views

Resource Monopoly when player only has one of the named resource

Does the opponent have to give you the selected resource ONLY if they have 2, or do they have to give the selected resource EVEN if they have only 1?
user avatar
  • 21
1 vote
2 answers
486 views

Can I steal from a city with a city wall?

So I was playing the Cities & Knights scenario in the Catan app. On my turn, I rolled a seven. I moved the robber on the mountains hex where both of my opponents have a settlement and a city ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

Catan Cities and Knights: Aqueduct and The Robber

If you have the Aqueduct, do you take a resource card if you didn't receive any production due to the fact the robber was on your only producing hex for that turn.
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
818 views

Clarification of the typo in the Almanac's entry for Intrigue

I'm confused with the Intrigue Politics Progress Card. I've learnt it's easily the most useless Progress Card. It's fundamentally equal with the Deserter card, the sole difference is that instead of ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
943 views

Can I build a strong knight with Deserter if the victim removes a mighty knight?

I already have all of my basic and mighty knights on the board. I played the Deserter Politics Progress Card to one of my opponents, and they chose to remove a mighty knight. It only says in the ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
923 views

Which city is destroyed if there are 2+ to choose from?

The barbarians attack. The player with the smallest army controls 2 cities, neither of which is a metropolis. Can they choose which one gets destroyed, or is this chosen at random?
user avatar
  • 469
9 votes
3 answers
1k views

Can you play a Progress Card even when you get nothing from it?

If I have a Progress Card for which initial preconditions do not hold, will I still be able to use it in order to discard it back to the pile? The goal is to prevent a spy from stealing it. A few ...
user avatar
19 votes
4 answers
4k views

Catan - Rules Lawyering the behavior of the "Commercial Harbor" Progress Card

Before explaining what happened, here's the literal text of the "Commercial Harbor" card, as a reference: Card Text: You may offer each Opponent a resource card from your hand. In exchange, ...
user avatar
  • 293
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens if you roll a 7 before the barbarians reach the island?

Accordingly to these rules, when you roll a 7 before the first barbarians' arrival, you have to drop half of your deck, if you have more than 7 cards. The rules in the Italian version of the game say ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
740 views

Phases order in "Catan: Cities & Knights"

According game rules, each player can perform any action (building, trading, knight activation, etc.) in any order during her/his turn. Can an action type be done more than once in the same turn? ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
6k views

White token in Catan cities and knights

Catan cities and knights has four colored circular tokens. There is a yellow, blue, and green to indicate when someone has acquired the metropolis for trade, politics and science respectively. There ...
user avatar
  • 169
2 votes
2 answers
6k views

Catan: Cities and Knights- barbarian attack with a differential of 2

The scenario is as follows... Player a has 3 cities and 2 knights, player B has 1 city and 1 knight, and player C has 1 city and no knights. The barbarians attack and given the state of the board, ...
user avatar
  • 21
3 votes
1 answer
517 views

Who decides which metropolis to steal?

Say the red player has two metropolises (having upgraded both politics and trade to level 4). Now the blue player upgrades their politics to level 5 and steals a metropolis from red. Who decides ...
user avatar
  • 143
4 votes
1 answer
146 views

Can a Catan Volcano destroy a knight?

When playing with both the Cities & Knights expansion and the Volcano variant, can a volcano eruption destroy a player's knight? (Knights occupy intersections, so theoretically the lava could flow ...
user avatar
  • 268
3 votes
1 answer
3k views

In Catan Cities & Knights, can you use a Knight action before you roll the dice?

In base Catan, the rules allow you to play a Knight card before you roll the dice. Obviously, there are no Development Cards in Cities and Knights, and instead there are physical knight tokens. The ...
user avatar
  • 268
4 votes
1 answer
251 views

Is it possible to combine the Jungle variant tile with Cities & Knights?

The Jungle Variant involves a jungle hex that produces "Discovery Tokens" which can be used toward purchasing Development Cards. Obviously, Cities & Knights has no Development Cards to purchase. ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
993 views

Settlers of Catan Cities and knights - Knights VS Barbarians

From the official introduction video of Settlers of Catan Cities & Knights, it mentioned that if barbarians value is "equal" or less than the knights value, catan wins. If there's a tie, each one ...
user avatar
  • 41
16 votes
3 answers
11k views

What are the rules updates for Catan in the 5th edition? Are there any?

Page 6 of the new Seafarers rulebook states: "A general note on Catan rules. This is the 5th English-language edition of Catan Seafarers. Over the years, the rules have been clarified, refined, and ...
user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
648 views

When can you start using the Pirate in Catan Cities and Knights / Seafarers?

In C&K rules, the robber cannot be moved at all until the first Barbarian Attack. When playing C&K combined with Seafarers, does this also apply to the pirate? It would make a lot of sense to ...
user avatar
-2 votes
3 answers
1k views

please explain how you use the city calendar

We have only played settlers and got the cities and knights expansion.. there are ships on the trade calendar. . We have no ships. In settlers, you still use those items not sell them back. How do I ...
user avatar
8 votes
3 answers
4k views

Settlers of Catan cities and knights mighty knights maximum numbers

Playing Settlers of Catan there have been a few instances where one runs out of Settlements or Cities (the pieces). How I have been playing it is that if you don't have it you can't build it. However ...
user avatar
  • 367
9 votes
2 answers
420 views

What are the primary enhancements Cities and Knights and Seafarer's add on to the original Settler's of Catan?

What unique features do Cities and Knights and Seafarer's expansions add to the original game? How do they make the game more playable/interesting?
user avatar
14 votes
1 answer
4k views

Does a gold field draw a resource and commodity, when combining Seafarers and C&K?

Played Seafarers/Cities and Knights recently with someone new and they insisted that a gold field would allow a city to draw a resource and a commodity. I may have missed something, but I checked my ...
user avatar
  • 386
13 votes
2 answers
9k views

Cities and Knights: Lose to a barbarian attack, but no settlements.

The barbarians come, and the player with the least amount of active knights has a city and 5 settlements on the board. What happens? The city would normally get knocked down to a settlement, but all ...
user avatar
  • 345
6 votes
2 answers
574 views

Cities and Knights: Played to virtual deadlock

Recently I have been playing cities and knights with fish and harbor master. Victory points needed to win is 15. The last two times we have played we have basically played to a deadlock. No one ...
user avatar
  • 345
1 vote
1 answer
459 views

Settlers Cities and Knights + Fish: Cost of a commodity

When using fish, the card states that 4 fish are used to buy a resource. What is the cost, in fish, of a commodity?
user avatar
  • 345
17 votes
4 answers
9k views

Can you collect a resource of your choice if you have no production due to the robber?

In "Cities and Knights" there is a city improvement which allows you to "collect a resource of your choice" if "you don't receive production on a turn." Does this privilege apply when the following ...
user avatar
  • 273
9 votes
1 answer
17k views

How big is the Settlers of Catan board?

I'm considering buying a small table, and I want to be sure it'll support all the games I might want to play on it. Sadly, however, I don't have access to Settlers and all its expansion right now. An ...
user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
608 views

Are progress cards awarded if the barbarian strength is 0?

If there are no cities on the board, barbarian strength is rated at zero. So automatically the players have tied or beaten the barbarians. Are progress cards allocated under these circumstances? If ...
user avatar
8 votes
2 answers
3k views

How many cards should be collected using the Mining Progress card?

The Cities and Knights expansion to Settlers of Catan has two cards that have caused us a bit of disagreement. Take the Mining Progress card for example. It says "...collect two ore for each ...
user avatar
21 votes
3 answers
1k views

Is drawing resources required?

Players draw resources, commodities (Cities and Knights), and fish tokens (Fishermen of Catan) during the course of various Catan games. It is almost always advantageous to draw your earned "goods" ...
user avatar
  • 417
14 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can You Buy a Catan Border That Fits? [closed]

"The border of the 4th edition Settlers of Catan is too small for the board hexes. To be exact, each hexagonal tile is about 79 mm wide. Five of them, end to end, form the longest stretch of land ...
user avatar
  • 271
9 votes
3 answers
5k views

Fixing warped board pieces

The pieces are usually kept in the box and not even used that much. However, I took them out the other day to play and all the hex pieces were warped. How can I fix this?
user avatar
  • 193
9 votes
2 answers
5k views

Largest Army in Settlers of Catan: Cities and Knights

We were playing Cities and Knights at the weekend and halfway through the game realised that no one had earned the largest army card. The reason behind this was that no one knew what it was earned ...
user avatar
  • 9,233
20 votes
2 answers
24k views

Catan : Multiple extension combination

I just bought the extension Cities and Knights (I don't know the rules very well at the moment). I already have the base game and the Seafarers of Catan. Is it possible to combine, on the same board,...
user avatar
  • 766
12 votes
5 answers
24k views

With both Seafarers and Cities & Knights expansions, how many victory points should I play to?

I've recently gotten Cities & Knights and plan to play it with my existing Seafarers of Catan expansion once I get the hang of it. Looking through the manuals for both Seafarers of Catan and ...
user avatar
14 votes
2 answers
5k views

How is gameplay improved in the Cities & Knights Expansion?

I've played both regular Settlers of Catan and the Seafarers of Catan Expansion, but I haven't yet played Cities & Knights and I’m curious about how it plays. I've noticed a lot of people speak ...
user avatar