55 votes
Accepted

In Uno, can you quickly finish a two player game by skipping your opponent's final turn and without saying Uno?

Player 1 hasn't won yet at all. They broke the rules. Uno says when it's your turn, you play a card. Then it's the next player's turn. That player might have to do something with their turn (like draw ...
doppelgreener's user avatar
32 votes
Accepted

Is playing an illegal Wild Draw 4 considered cheating or a bluff?

This should fall under the category of bluffing for one simple reason that is even in the quoted block of yours: Only the person required to draw the 4 cards can make the challenge. If this would ...
Zibelas's user avatar
  • 1,629
28 votes
Accepted

Draw 2 stacking was wrong or official account played a prank?

Draw card stacking is not part of the basic Uno game rules, but it is a house rule used so frequently that Mattel have included it in the bundled rules as a variant called "Progressive Uno". ...
KMR's user avatar
  • 5,077
20 votes

Playing a draw 4 after another player has played a draw 4

No. The first player's action caused the second player to draw four cards and skip their normal turn; there is nothing in the rules which can cause that to be "undone". The third player's ...
Philip Kendall's user avatar
19 votes

Can you hide your number of cards in Uno?

The official rules of most games tell you what is allowed, and usually only tell you what isn't allowed when it seems that it would be possible otherwise. For instance, there is no rule that says I ...
CJ Dennis's user avatar
  • 343
18 votes

Can I play a different colored Draw 2 Card on top of a Draw 2 Card in Uno or Uno Flip

Yes, Player C can play a different colored Draw 2 Card on top of Player A's Draw 2 Card. Draw 2 Card - ... This card may only be played on a matching color or on another Draw 2 card. Here's a ...
Ola Ström's user avatar
  • 1,606
14 votes
Accepted

Choosing same color after Wild (+4) Draw 4

These rules appear to be from 2001, and these rules appear to be from 2003. Both sets of rules do not indicate any restrictions on the choice of colour after either wild. The points from both rules ...
Samthere's user avatar
  • 9,683
14 votes

My friend put wild color card. It was my turn after her. Can I put another wild color card?

According to this website, the rules for Wild cards state (emphasis mine): This card represents all four colors, and can be placed on any card. The player has to state which color it will represent ...
Reibello's user avatar
  • 631
14 votes

In Uno, can you play a Wild Draw 4 Card when you have another Wild Card in your hand?

According to the rules sheet from Mattel: You may only play this card when you do NOT have another card in your hand that matches the COLOR on the DISCARD pile (but it is acceptable to play this ...
Ken Herbert's user avatar
  • 8,326
14 votes

UNO Stacking a Draw 4 Card instead of picking up 4 cards?

Not under the standard rules - there is no ability to respond to a Wild +4 (or a +2 for that matter). If the previous player to you played one of those cards, you take the cards and the turn pass. "...
Philip Kendall's user avatar
12 votes

Wild Card colour change rule

According to the official rules found via a google search 'uno rules' (emphasis mine): Wild Card - When you play this card, you may change the color being played to any color (including the current ...
Mosquite's user avatar
  • 1,224
12 votes
Accepted

How is an Uno stalemate handled?

According to the UNO rules, drawing without playing is a legal move: RENEGING You may choose not to play a playable card from your hand. If so, you must draw a card from the DRAW pile. If ...
prosepraise's user avatar
12 votes

Can you play three skips then a reverse?

Yes, in a 2 player game, playing a skip would make it your turn again, so you could play another skip if you have one. Playing a reverse will also skip your opponent’s turn, only in a 2 player game. ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
11 votes

In Uno, can you play a Reverse card on a Draw 4 card and make that player draw 4 cards instead?

You can't According to the uno rules a draw 2 means: Draw Two – When a person places this card, the next player will have to pick up two cards and forfeit his/her turn. Meaning you don't have a ...
Ivar de Bruin's user avatar
11 votes

Can you hoard a Wild or Wild +4?

In short, yes; it's called "reneging". Here's a snippet from the PDF of Uno's rules from Mattel's service website.
Tetch's user avatar
  • 111
11 votes

In Uno, can you quickly finish a two player game by skipping your opponent's final turn and without saying Uno?

You cannot play a "Wild Card" and say "Red, draw 2" because you are only allowed to pick a colour (and not a specific card of that colour) to change the top of the discard pile to. ...
MT0's user avatar
  • 529
11 votes

Can you hide your number of cards in Uno?

While there is no rule stating that you can't hide your number of cards, it is definitely against the spirit of the game to attempt to bypass the rule that requires you to say "Uno". Personally, if ...
Ken Herbert's user avatar
  • 8,326
10 votes

Question about following suit

According to UNO Rules: You have to match either by the number, color, or the symbol/Action. For instance, if the Discard Pile has a red card that is an 8 you have to place either a red card or a ...
Novarg's user avatar
  • 681
10 votes

Does a person playing an illegal Draw 4 in Uno still get to pick the color?

As per the (2008) Rules sheet from Mattel (emphasis in second paragraph mine): Wild Draw Four Card - When you play this card, you get to choose the color that continues play PLUS the next player ...
KitsuneZeta's user avatar
  • 1,759
10 votes
Accepted

Is it a valid strategy to accumulate cards then swap hand?

There is no penalty for calling out "Uno!" when you have more than 1 card. There is also no penalty for calling out another player for not saying "Uno!" if the other player isn't down to one card. The ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
9 votes

What do I do if the draw pile is empty?

You reshuffle the discards to form a new draw pile. This is specifically stated in the rules (page 2, at the end of the section GOING OUT): If no one is out of cards by the time the DRAW pile is ...
Ken Herbert's user avatar
  • 8,326
9 votes

Uno discard and draw pile empty?

There's always a card on the discard pile. Even when you reshuffle, you have to leave the top card of the former DISCARD pile as the start of the new DISCARD pile. (That is: you always have a card ...
L. Scott Johnson's user avatar
8 votes

Is there a penalty in Uno for incorrectly accusing a player of failing to call "uno"?

I assume that yelling out "one card" is the way your group has decided to implement this rule: If [the player with one card is] caught not saying “Uno” by another player before any card has been ...
Benjamin Cosman's user avatar
7 votes

Progressive Draw 2 and Draw 4 Uno

If you look at the base rules of the game it ends as soon as a player has no cards in their hand. Which means that the second player would not have a chance to play the draw 2 in response to the first ...
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14.1k
7 votes
Accepted

In Uno H2O, what is the difference between these two cards?

Those are both wild cards, just from two different printings. The one on the left is the original 2004 design, and other from the end of 2005. Matel updated the design for printing UNO H20 Splash, ...
KMR's user avatar
  • 5,077
7 votes

In Uno, if a draw 4 is played and the player after next plays, does the player still have to draw 4

Yes. Point of order: player 3 cannot play their card until player 2 has drawn the four. Rulebook: "gameplay usually follows a clockwise direction" (The usually is there to handle the Reverse card). ...
L. Scott Johnson's user avatar
7 votes

Can you hide your number of cards in Uno?

This is not banned by the rules - and does not remove information from the game From the official rules: https://service.mattel.com/instruction_sheets/42001pr.pdf There is no rule stating how a ...
Bilkokuya's user avatar
  • 171
7 votes

Is playing an illegal Wild Draw 4 considered cheating or a bluff?

If the game itself, not just official tournaments and such, has rules for what happens when you're caught doing it, then it's part of the game and is not cheating. Penalties for actual cheating are ...
Douglas's user avatar
  • 356
6 votes

Do you have to give others a chance to say "Uno"?

From the original Uno rules: The game continues until a player has one card left. The moment a player has just one card they must yell “UNO!”. If they are caught not saying “Uno” by another player ...
Becuzz's user avatar
  • 5,500

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible