Hot answers tagged

51

Player 1 hasn't won yet at all. They broke the rules. Uno says when it's your turn, you play a card. Then it's the next player's turn. That player might have to do something with their turn (like draw cards) but if they have a draw 2 in their hand, they have an opportunity to respond instead. Player 1 says [...] they are not obligated to give you time to ...


28

She's basically right, but timing matters here. Your correct play is to say "UNO" as you play the card, which can't be interrupted. The player about to go down to one card may not be caught until his second to last card hits the discard pile. After that though, he's fair game! From the rules: When you have one card left, you must yell "UNO" (meaning one). ...


21

From the rules, the hand is over. http://www.wonkavator.com/uno/unorules.html When you have one card left, you must yell "UNO" (meaning one). Failure to do this results in you having to pick two cards from the DRAW pile. That is, of course if you get caught by the other players. Once a player has no cards left, the hand is over. Points are scored ...


21

These cards are mentioned in Uno instructions — you can use one if you lose or damage one of the other cards, or you can use it to include custom house rules card into the deck. See reference in manual: What Are These Extra Cards For? Blank Card - This is a special card that you may use in one of two ways. If a card from your UNO deck is lost or damaged you ...


20

No. The first player's action caused the second player to draw four cards and skip their normal turn; there is nothing in the rules which can cause that to be "undone". The third player's turn then proceeds as normal. It may be worth noting here that "stacking" Draw 2 or Draw 4 cards is not part of the official rules even if it is a ...


19

The official rules of most games tell you what is allowed, and usually only tell you what isn't allowed when it seems that it would be possible otherwise. For instance, there is no rule that says I can't add four cards to your hand whenever I feel like it. (feel free to add your own ridiculous rule here) Should this be allowed because the rules don't ...


18

A common Uno variant allows the recipient of a draw 2 to avoid drawing (and being skipped) by playing their own draw 2. The next player either needs to skip their turn and draw 4 cards, or play their own draw 2. If they play their own, the next player must either draw 6 cards or continue the sequence. Some variants allow similar behavior with draw 4 cards....


17

The penalty for misplaying a card, is that now your opponents know you have that card in your hand. Besides that though, the official rules (2003) state the penalty (among other listed penalties): If a player plays a wrong card and it is noticed by any other player, he/she must take the card back and take two extra cards from the DRAW pile. Play continues ...


16

Yes, Player C can play a different colored Draw 2 Card on top of Player A's Draw 2 Card. Draw 2 Card - ... This card may only be played on a matching color or on another Draw 2 card. Here's a great place to read the rules yourself: From mattel.com: https://service.mattel.com/instruction_sheets/42001pr.pdf


14

According to this website, the rules for Wild cards state (emphasis mine): This card represents all four colors, and can be placed on any card. The player has to state which color it will represent for the next player. It can be played regardless of whether another card is available. So yes, a player may place a Wild on the pile in response to a Wild. ...


14

Not under the standard rules - there is no ability to respond to a Wild +4 (or a +2 for that matter). If the previous player to you played one of those cards, you take the cards and the turn pass. "Stacking" + cards is a common house rule, but we obviously can't tell you what your house rules are.


13

According to the rules sheet from Mattel: You may only play this card when you do NOT have another card in your hand that matches the COLOR on the DISCARD pile (but it is acceptable to play this card if you have matching number or Action Cards). Since Wild cards are classified as Action cards, you are legally allowed to play a Wild Draw Four when you ...


13

These rules appear to be from 2001, and these rules appear to be from 2003. Both sets of rules do not indicate any restrictions on the choice of colour after either wild. The points from both rules about Wild Draw 4 are: You play it and choose the colour to continue. The next player draws 4 and misses their turn. You can only play this if you don'...


12

A definitive answer would require someone who has a collection of all the printing of UNO since the beginning in 1971 to present day. The only one likely to have such an museum quality collection is the estate of the inventor of the game, Merle Robbins, an Ohio barber. He spent $8,000 to have 5,000 copies made. He sold the rights to the game to International ...


12

According to the official rules found via a google search 'uno rules' (emphasis mine): Wild Card - When you play this card, you may change the color being played to any color (including the current color). This means that when you play a Wild Card you can name the current color.


11

You can't According to the uno rules a draw 2 means: Draw Two – When a person places this card, the next player will have to pick up two cards and forfeit his/her turn. Meaning you don't have a chance to play the reverse card and let the other person draw the cards


11

According to the UNO rules, drawing without playing is a legal move: RENEGING You may choose not to play a playable card from your hand. If so, you must draw a card from the DRAW pile. If playable, that card can be played, but you may not play a card from your hand after the draw. However, the intent of this rule is more likely to allow a player to ...


11

Yes, in a 2 player game, playing a skip would make it your turn again, so you could play another skip if you have one. Playing a reverse will also skip your opponent’s turn, only in a 2 player game. From the rules: Rules for Two Players - The following special rules apply to two-player UNO: Playing a Reverse card works like playing a ...


11

In short, yes; it's called "reneging". Here's a snippet from the PDF of Uno's rules from Mattel's service website.


10

According to UNO Rules: You have to match either by the number, color, or the symbol/Action. For instance, if the Discard Pile has a red card that is an 8 you have to place either a red card or a card with an 8 on it. You can also play a Wild card (which can alter current color in play) So you do not necessarily have to continue the color, you may change ...


10

There is no penalty for calling out "Uno!" when you have more than 1 card. There is also no penalty for calling out another player for not saying "Uno!" if the other player isn't down to one card. The penalty is for when you fail to call "Uno!" while playing your second-to-last card. So you cannot intentionally increase your hand size that way; at best you ...


10

As per the (2008) Rules sheet from Mattel (emphasis in second paragraph mine): Wild Draw Four Card - When you play this card, you get to choose the color that continues play PLUS the next player must draw 4 cards from the DRAW pile and lose their turn. However, there is a hitch! You may only play this card when you do NOT have another card in ...


10

You cannot play a "Wild Card" and say "Red, draw 2" because you are only allowed to pick a colour (and not a specific card of that colour) to change the top of the discard pile to. From the rules (pdf) on Mattel's website: Wild Card - When you play this card, you may change the color being played to any color (including the current color)...


10

While there is no rule stating that you can't hide your number of cards, it is definitely against the spirit of the game to attempt to bypass the rule that requires you to say "Uno". Personally, if someone did this consistently against me I would stop playing the game with them.


9

You reshuffle the discards to form a new draw pile. This is specifically stated in the rules (page 2, at the end of the section GOING OUT): If no one is out of cards by the time the DRAW pile is depleted, reshuffle the DISCARD pile and continue play.


9

There's always a card on the discard pile. Even when you reshuffle, you have to leave the top card of the former DISCARD pile as the start of the new DISCARD pile. (That is: you always have a card there showing what needs to be matched.) Even if all the other cards are in players' hands, that card is still there. At this point, players can pass, but they ...


8

I assume that yelling out "one card" is the way your group has decided to implement this rule: If [the player with one card is] caught not saying “Uno” by another player before any card has been played by other players, the player must draw two new cards. That rule does not establish a penalty for incorrectly "catching" another player not saying Uno. You ...


7

If you look at the base rules of the game it ends as soon as a player has no cards in their hand. Which means that the second player would not have a chance to play the draw 2 in response to the first players card. Also should be noted that if you are playing in a situation where you want to continue playing till everyone but the last person runs out of ...


7

Those are both wild cards, just from two different printings. The one on the left is the original 2004 design, and other from the end of 2005. Matel updated the design for printing UNO H20 Splash, seemingly to avoid confusion with the Draw 4.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible